Secret of Solstice: Three Interactions

SKU: Ph000009 Categories: ,

Composition Date: 2014
Duration: 00:09:00
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Chamber Orchestra (10 to 20), Accordion


Instrumentation Set Number 1:

  • 1 x Accordion
  • 1 x Soprano
  • 1 x Chamber orch.

Programme Note:
This composition was premiered on December 5th, 2014 by the accordionist Michael Bridge and sopranist Zorana Sadiq. The three movements were developed out of an initial melodic motif that is present at the beginning of each movement. They act as a counterforce to the rest of the works in texture and harmonic language. The second and fourth, shorter in length, act as transitional gateways between the surrounding movements. All three are centered on the accordion and its conversation with the rest of the orchestra.

Premiere Information:
5 December 2014, St. George Anglican Church, Toronto, Ontario
Michael Bridge, accordion; Zorana Sadiq, soprano; ICOT Orchestra; Maziar Heidari, conductor